Metallica- “My Apocalypse” review, 8.5/10

“My Apocalypse” is the third song to be released off of Death Magnetic, and it is a dousy. It is the fastest and most brutal of the three, but it’s not the best. It reminds me of “Dyers Eve” and “Battery”, but more raw and less memorable. That’s not to say that it is bad, because it isn’t. Far from it. Like “The Day That Never Comes”, it lacks a certain cohesion, and is all over the place.

The problem with me is that I just like hearing Metallica rock out for 5 minutes, so the lack of cohesion isn’t that big of a deal to my bleeding ears. It doesn’t have a discernable chorus, but the song moves at such a break neck speed that stopping for a chorus seems like a bad idea.

Overall, I think this song is the worst of the three, but it still kicks ass. When I buy this cd I might use this song to wake up to. Since it is named “My Apocalypse”, it sets a great tone for starting the day.

8.5/10

8 Responses

  1. So far I am impressed with what I have heard. “The day That Never Comes” is probably within’ my top 10 fav. ‘tallica songs (believe it or not) and the more i listen to it, the more i like it. “My Apocalypse” is a great song and feels like a justice-St. Anger hybrid, and at times,(i almost don’t want to say this), kind of reminds me of slayer, especially lyrically.

  2. The second song i’ve heard from the new album.
    i’m still not convinced for some reason, it’s not at all bad but it’s lacking that certain something that made metallica, “METALLICA!”. i don’t know, it sounds all too familiar, maybe my ears have been poluted by too much other music over the years but it all just doesn’t sound relevant anymore. heard it all before and worst of all i’ve heard it done better. i guess the fire that fueled previous albums finally went out and it’s now just a nice piece of music. not bad but not earthshattering iether.

  3. The new Metallica sounds promising. James does the best job on this one. He sounds really sounds like Tom Araya (Slayer) at times. This one rocks!

  4. The new Metallica sounds promising. James does the best job on this one. He really sounds like Tom Araya (Slayer) at times. There’s also a death metal style riff in there. Raw stuff and definetely rocks!

  5. […] Metallica- “My Apocalypse” review, 8.5/10 “My Apocalypse” is the third song to be released off of Death Magnetic, and it is a dousy. It is the […] […]

  6. Think I’ll be buying this album, like I have all others since I was 14 in 1989…all except that last piece of shit of course. Glad to hear Metallica seems to be back!!!

  7. The album as a whole reminds me of a mix between Justice and Black Album… This reminds me of a mix between Justice and St Anger though… I agree.

    Slayer? Yes, I agree the lyrics reminded me of Slayer.

  8. Google News and

Leave a Reply

