Metallica- “Cyanide” review, 10/10

Ok, so I’ve officially become obsessed with the new Metallica cd, Death Magnetic. “My Apocalypse” came out today, and as far as I’m concerned, they are 3 for 3. “Cyanide” is my favorite out of the three, but they’re all good. The thing I like about “Cyanide” is that it has the most coherent song structure, and has all the elements that make Metallica great. Hammett’s riffs are sinister as hell, Trujillo’s bass helps the song groove, Hetfield’s vocal inflection is perfect, and Ulrich is competent…as always.

It’s pretty sad that Trujillo has only been with the band a few years, and his presence is already felt more than anytime Jason Newsted played for them. That’s not to say he was bad, he just didn’t have a lot to do. Trujillo’s bouncing groove that starts off the song is great, and it continues throughout, giving the song more depth.

The driving riff throughout the song is menacing, and is the perfect complement to both the lyrics and Hetfield’s voice. The chorus works perfectly in this song, to the point where I think this song will be the best on the album.

I don’t really know what else to say about the song, except that I recommend listening to it about 50 times. I have yet to get tired of it, and I’ve probably doubled that amount.

10/10

6 Responses

  1. I agree that cyanide is the best of the 3 so far and I can’t wait to hear the studio version. I purchased both other songs from Itunes and I’m listening to them over and over again (can’t get enough…lol). I’ve been a fan of Metallica since the 80’s and Im really excited about this cd.

  2. Jeff, yeah I’m on the same page with you, except I got into them in the early 90s, seeing as that I’m only 24. I can’t wait for the studio version of Cyanide to be released also. All three songs are great though, which already makes the cd better than St. Anger!

  3. Yes, I agree, Metallica has Musically improved so much over the years with Style and Changes that keep you in wonder and Amazement!!
    Cyanide is a Cool Groove and very addicting.
    Honestly, I hope they play all 10 songs off their new album for their 2009 tour since they play 2 and a half hours anyway.
    These Songs Kick A$$ Live!!!

  4. Finally, a website that a couple fans enjoy the 3 songs that have been put out there for feelers.. I really think people are missing the entire picture with “The Day That Never Comes”. It’s not all metal, it’s creative, lots of changes which aint easy for most bands to do at all. The lyrics along wit the video honestly put a tear to my eye…That sounds fruity i know, but it just goes together so well…. Anyways, I’ve been apart of the missonmetallica thing since the begining, I can def say they been workin their ass off…. And one last note.. About Newsted the previous Bassist.. He isnt a bad player.. It’s just he was apart of Metallica when almost all the creativity was comming from Lars and James.. In an interview in So What magazine, Some question was asked about what there goals are in the band for the future, Jason said that his was to keep it metal and hardcore thrash. Lars reply? To not make it metal…. So I really think Jason was just playing pre writen notes almost half the time after the Black Album

  5. Word Bitches!!
    The day that never comes is totally for the real fans.. I mean everywhere I hear or read it gettin slammed are by sad little emo’s and kids who cant comprehend the ear bleeding riffery that was Ride…..

    Just wait til you hear the pressed tracks off CD and vinyl its gonna jizz in your little ear pussys..

  6. This track rocks, Trujillo’s riff is amazing (for first time I like the way his bass sounds), the wah wah at the intro sounds amazing, the chorus, etc.

    It rocks, the better one with The Judas Kiss, All Nightmare Long and The End of the Line

Leave a Reply

